top of page
-2283658729136421496_IMG_3642.JPG

WAVES OF GRACE

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureJulia Monk

S.O.S.

I've mentioned before in previous posts that I am a very strong person. Which means I don't often feel weak and if I do, I rarely ask for help. Now, I'm not saying this is the right thing to do but those people with strong personalities tend to avoid showing vulnerability. That's why the saying, "check on your strong friend" has been all over social media. Regardless of the type of person you are, we all at one point in our lives, send out an S.O.S. We've come up against something that feels like it has us beat. We can't see a way out of the situation. We can't stop the pain in our hearts, the thoughts that steal our peace or the temptation that seems to be targeting us directly. While God did give his people abilities to rise above, find a solution and re-set our minds, he also gave us his Holy Spirit. We are well equipped to overcome.


But have you ever felt like it wasn't enough? There have been a few times in my life, if I'm being honest, where it didn't seem like God's presence was enough to win the current battle I was facing. In my faith, I still believed He can and would come to my aid. But my soul, heart and mind didn't get the memo. I would do all the things. Give it to God, pray, worship and surround myself with encouraging people. But the thoughts and emotions would still invade. I have said out loud, maybe even a little angry to God, "YOU have to do this. I can't. Where are you? Why am I still struggling? Why haven't you taken this? I am too weak." I know, I know, I grew up in church so I have all the Godly answers. He comes like a gentle whisper. He is moving in his timing. Just because you can't see it right now, does not mean he isn't moving on your behalf. Just rest in him and trust. I have said these very words to others so many times. And they are all true.

But have you ever been in so much pain that these words that were meant for encouragement feel empty?


I've gone through battles where it felt like I was fighting all alone, hopeless. I fight as long and as hard as I can but many times I've felt like a fallen soldier. I can no longer fight. I cry out to God, tears streaming down my face. Beaten. Nothing left. Recently, I listened to a song by Lauren Daigle and it rocked me. God showed me a part of his character that I had seen many times in the scripture but not often felt on a personal level. God, the warrior. He is not just a gentle God coming to heal my heart and slowly lead me to peace. He is a mighty warrior, sending out his army. God reminded me that sometimes there is a real fight over me. The enemy is real and spiritual battles are happening every day.

Daniel was fasting and praying...waiting for his rescue for 21 days.


"Then he said, "Don't be afraid, Daniel. Since the first day you began to pray for understanding and to humble yourself before your God, your request has been heard in heaven. I have come in answer to your prayer. But for twenty-one days the spirit prince of the kingdom of Persia blocked my way. Then Michael, one of the archangels, came to help me, and I left him there with the spirit prince of the kingdom of Persia."

Daniel 10:12-13


Angels and demons are fighting over the world and God's people. This shouldn't make us fearful but remind us that when the rescue doesn't seem to be coming that we are not hopeless. We are not forgotten. He hears our S.O.S. and he WILL come to our rescue!

"The Lord says, "I will rescue those who love me. I will protect those who trust in my name."" Psalms 91:14.

He is our powerful God and he will never stop fighting to rescue us! He loves us so much that he will send out an army to find us in the darkest night. He will NEVER stop fighting to reach us! He will rescue you.

"Say to those with fearful hearts, "Be strong, and do not fear, for your God is coming to destroy your enemies. He is coming to save you." Isaiah 35:4


He is coming. Like a mighty warrior leading the army, just for you.




49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Home: Subscribe
bottom of page